Scientific Advisory Boards (SABs)

The University of Vienna’s Organisation Plan allows for the setting up of scientific advisory boards (SABs) both on the faculty and centre level, as well as on the level of the overall University.

These advisory boards, made up of external experts, are aimed at strengthening the University of Vienna's international orientation and international focus in its research and teaching activities. Proposals for appointments to the scientific advisory boards for faculties and centres are made by the individual faculties and centres.

Scientific advisory boards serve in a consultative function and are designed to support the faculty or centre particularly in development planning, as well as in the development of target agreements and in their implementation.

The necessary funding for the scientific advisory board (travel expenses, remuneration for the members, etc.) is provided by the Rectorate. Organisational support for the scientific advisory boards is the responsibility of the individual faculty or centre. The budgetary framework is to be set forth in the context of the target agreements.

Contact

Dr. Michael Hofer

T: +43-1-4277-18010
michael.hofer@univie.ac.at

Scientific Advisory Boards (SABs)

Im Organisationsplan der Universität Wien ist die Möglichkeit der Einrichtung von wissenschaftlichen Beiräten (Scientific Advisory Boards) sowohl auf Ebene der Fakultäten und Zentren als auch auf Ebene der Gesamtuniversität vorgesehen.

Durch diese Beratungsgremien, die mit externen WissenschafterInnen besetzt werden, soll die internationale Orientierung, die internationale Ausrichtung von Forschung und Lehre der Universität Wien verstärkt werden. Die Vorschläge zur Besetzung der wissenschaftlichen Beiräte der Fakultäten und Zentren kommen aus den jeweiligen Fakultäten und Zentren.

Der wissenschaftliche Beirat hat eine beratende Funktion und soll die Fakultät bzw. das Zentrum insbesondere bei der Entwicklungsplanung, bei der Entwicklung der Zielvereinbarungen sowie bei Umsetzung dieser unterstützen.

Die notwendigen Mittel für einen wissenschaftlichen Beirat (Reisekosten, Honorare für die Mitglieder etc.) werden vom Rektorat zur Verfügung gestellt, die organisatorische Unterstützung der wissenschaftlichen Beiräte obliegt den Fakultäten bzw. Zentren. Der Budgetrahmen ist in den Zielvereinbarungen zu bestimmen.

Kontakt

Dr. Michael Hofer

T: +43-1-4277-18010
michael.hofer@univie.ac.at